Patchwork Marketplace

Patchwork pattern of rainbow colors.

 

Hi camp friends,

If you follow me on social media you would have seen me post about this already, but I thought I’d share a little more info about it here. I am just so proud and excited about this project. And if you don’t follow me on social media, this will be brand new information! Exciting! Also, let’s be friends, all of my social media links are on the sidebar. –>

 

How Patchwork Marketplace Came To Be

Ok, so if you’ve been around these parts before you may have seen this post by Curt Jackson in my “Path” series. And also this post about how exciting it is to work with new people in blog land and in camping. Well, once Curt and I chatted a bit, wrote for each other’s blogs we decided that we wanted to work on another project together. We brainstormed a little bit, designed some (awesome) t-shirts, wrote a few fun quizzes and other posts but we were still looking for a bigger project to work on.

Then he mentioned that he always thought it would be neat to have a site similar to the ones available for teachers but for camp and recreation professionals.

Cue record scratch.

turntable-1328823_1920

Hold the presses.

old-time-950445_1920

That’s freakin’ brilliant!

I said, “umm, YEAH!” so we put all of our resources into creating Patchwork Marketplace.

And I’m super excited about it.

Then we came up with the name Patchwork because it sort of encompassed all of the things we were trying to accomplish with the marketplace. There’s an explanation on the site, I’ll like to it as soon as it’s available to the public. (If you join our beta test, you can have assess now. More about that at the bottom)

Collaboration friends, it’s where it’s at!

 

Sooo… What Is It We’re Doing?

It’s an online marketplace where camp and recreation professionals can not only go to get reasonably priced resources (like program plans, training workshops, evaluation templates, etc.) so they don’t have to reinvent the wheel each time they want to improve their program BUT it’s also a place where camp and recreation professionals can SELL the amazing resources that they’ve already come up with!!

How freakin’ cool is that!?

Everyone has a workshop, or program they have created that they’re super proud of, with this platform people will have a chance to sell those creations to make a few extra dollars.

 

side-income

Added Bonus

The other thing that I think is so cool about it, is that it has the potential to really help people in the sector market themselves for new jobs or if they want to get into the consulting part of the biz.

If someone is churning out great resources constantly, maybe one of their buyers will say “ya know what, this person really knows their stuff, I’m going to ask them to come speak at my camp” or the future employee or consultant can say “check out my store on Patchwork Marketplace for an idea of the types of work/ workshops I can offer, or where my expertise is.”

 

We’re Not In It For The Money

There’s just so much potential for this to have a really cool impact on the industry!

So, I know what you’re going to say “but Patti, we’re not in it for the money!”

I know that no one in the camping or recreation industry is in it for the money (otherwise, we’d be in a different industry… amIright? peh. heh. heh.) AND I also know that it’s possible to make a difference, help others, increase knowledge sharing, and elevate the sector WHILE being compensated for your work. 

The two are not mutually exclusive. In fact, the two ideas should be synonymous – if anything we, as an industry tend to undervalue our worth. Let’s stop doing that!

So Curt and I are working with our sellers to learn how to dance the line of valuing the work we create, while making sure it’s still affordable to even the smallest non-profits with shoe-string budgets.

The way we’re approaching it is by encouraging people to offer a broad range of price points. We’re starting small (most people are offering their resources for under $10.00, with many offering them for under $5.00) so buyers have a chance to get familiar with what they have to offer. And everyone has to offer at least one free resource.

We’re starting small not only because it helps the buyers out, but it helps the sellers too – because it’s really hard to put value on your work after you’ve undervalued it for so long! Baby steps, my friends.

 

So here’s the blurb we’ve been posting all over social media, if you’re interested in selling, sign up and post your first free resource and first fee based resource before January 16, 2017 and receive 75% royalty (minus $.30 transaction fee)!!!

5 more days to take advantage!!

You can still sign up after the 16th, it just means you’ll receive 70% royalty (minus $.30 transaction fee)

side-income-2

Calling all Camp and Recreation Professionals,
Are you looking for a way to make a few extra dollars?
Being a camp or recreation professional doesn’t always pay what you wish it would; and we know that you’re not in it for the money, but what if we told you that you could sell your original resources (training, program, etc) to other camp & rec pros to make a little extra money?
We’ve developed a website where you can buy and/or sell resources that were made FOR our industry BY our industry.
There’s no fee to sign up, no catches, no small print, and no reason not to take this opportunity!
Sign up before January 16th (it’s free) and receive 75% royalty on your sales (minus $0.30 transaction fee) in perpetuity. After January 16th it will still be free to sign up, but the royalty rate offered will be lower.
Email now for information on how to sign up for free!

patti@patchworkmarketplace.com

 

So that’s what I’ve been up to. Between this, the adventure of starting my own camp/ signing up to run a church camp, and transitioning out of my old job. It’s been a little hectic. But I’m LOVING every second of it!

 

What are you guys working on right now? I’d love to hear all about it!
Hit me up with any questions about Patchwork Marketplace, or if you have any suggestions about future posts.

Until next week, xo.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Patchwork Marketplace

  1. Hi, Patti!

    Thanks for this post (and all of your others!). I saw patchwork opening up through Curt’s blog/email subscription but I just don’t feel ready to sell any of my materials yet (mainly because I’m still new and couldn’t think of anything I had to sell!). But I look forward to buying through patchwork and possibly selling in the future.

    You had asked about ideas for future posts- I’m right in the midst of staff recruiting and especially interviewing/hiring. I’d love to hear your thoughts on that! If you already did a blog post on that subject could you point me to it? I’m slowly reading through all of your past blogs 1-2 at a time every few days.

    Thanks!

    Dan

    Like

    • That’s awesome! Thanks Dan, I’m so glad that you’re finding this little blog helpful 🙂
      There’s some really great stuff posted on Patchwork already, I can’t wait for you to check it out in February!
      In terms of recruiting/ hiring, is there anything specific you’re interested in?
      What the process should be, types of questions to ask, maybe just a round up of resources I’ve found helpful? Or all of the above? haha
      I’m happy to write something up, I’ll aim to post it next week, and let me know if you’re looking for any specifics (and I’ll do my best 🙂 )
      cheers!

      Like

      • Well, I’m still pretty new as a director… So information on anything would be generally helpful 😉
        I think I feel pretty good about the interview process, but I’m realizing how important and massive the recruiting process is. Any tips or tricks you’ve found for recruiting? I’d love to get more camp applicants so I have a number of people to “weed out”. Typically, I find just 2-3 applicants more than I need. I’d love to have the freedom to weed out 10+. Also, I’m struggling to balance it all! How do you prep for summer camp (and for us, Winter Camp), hire staff, AND do everything else that a director does during the school year. People don’t believe me, but it’s a busy job post-summer! haha.

        Does that help narrow it down some?

        Thanks,

        Dan

        Like

  2. Hey Dan,
    I finally posted a response to your question – sorry that it took so long!!!
    I hope it helps (at least a little).
    cheers,
    Patti

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

